The Unesco Late Baroque Towns

Since 2002 eight cities in southeast Sicily, between the areas of Catania, Siracusa e Ragusa (specifically Caltagirone, Catania, Militello Val di Catania, Modica, Noto, Palazzolo Acreide, Ragusa and Scicli) have been included, by UNESCO, in World Heritage List as the name “Late Baroque Towns of the Val di Noto”, for their splendid examples of Baroque, making their monuments unique. A plethora of carved stones, sun and art defines these cities that are visited by thousands of tourists every year.
In 1693 a devastating earthquake destroyed the ancient towns in southeast Sicily. The new cities was completely rebuilt and nowadays they represent the triumph of Sicilian Baroque.

Written by: Valdinoto Team

Se ti è piaciuto questo articolo, visita questi luoghi…